RSS

MY FIRST TAKE WITH THE OMD E-M1

18 Sep

So I bit the bullet and got myself the Oly E-M1. I was dead set on getting the Sony A7 but after reading a post and discussing it with a fellow WordPress blogger and mirrorless user Rey, I changed my mind and got the E-M1, instead of the A7. A choice that I am happy that I made. Less expensive and way more bang for the buck for sure!

Sure, when I did get the package (I got the body with 12-40 f/2.8 pro lens kit), I was dumbfounded for a couple of days. The menus, the little tweaks and such – made me cry! I don’t know, the last time I owned a DSLR was way back in 2009. Since selling my Nikon D200 I was using the Ricoh GX200, that got stolen in 2012 and I later on got the Ricoh GR. The E-M1 is a totally different story altogether.

Anyhow, after some use, swearing and asking for help online, I did get my hands “used” to the E-M1 (still lot to learn though), and yes, the photos are simply mind-blowing.

Wanted to share some photos I took with it and especially since I haven’t posted anything here on my blog for a long time, I thought I would post some pics ๐Ÿ™‚

… and yeah, I am IN LOVE with the Oly’s b/w grain!! Just incredible… did we just go back to film?! lol

Please leave a comment – if you like ’em! ๐Ÿ˜‰

GreatSaltLake_20140830_12

RedButteGarden_20140830_14

RedButteGarden_20140830_7

RedButteGarden_20140830_10

Great_Salt_Lake_1

RedButteGarden_20140830_12

 
2 Comments

Posted by on September 18, 2014 in Travel Journal

 

Tags: , , , , , ,

2 responses to “MY FIRST TAKE WITH THE OMD E-M1

  1. Rey

    September 19, 2014 at 7:45 am

    Congratulations on the new Oly. It’s a great camera, though as you say… the menus and interface can be bewildering. Once you set it up the way you want, you can avoid all that and just shoot to your heart’s content. Some tips: shoot raw and pull details out of the shadows in LR or your tool of choice. A bit of noise reduction applied at the higher ISOs can go a long way too. The m4/3 sensors have come a long way and when coupled with great lenses like the Oly 12-40/2.8 (good choice) will get you to APS-C levels no problem. Happy shooting!

    Like

     
    • tigerclaws

      September 19, 2014 at 10:00 pm

      Yeah, about the RAW vs JPG files…. I was shooting in Raw + Jpg (with effects) but when I import them in Lightroom, LR does not import the jpgs but only the raw and also I lose the effects… I had to import the jpgs separate and it’s a a bump in the workflow.

      What/How do you do it Rey?

      Like

       

Leave a comment