RSS

PRIZED POSSESSIONS

05 May

Everyone has a prized collection that he for some reason cherishes like no other thing they possess. It can be a lifetime achievement trophy or a handful of sand from their homeland. At times it is just Faith that people have of what is utmost value to them and nothing of worldly possessions.

Fact of matter is, it’s actually never the price that determines the value of the object in the possession. Two things add value – it’s rarity and the sentiments attached to it. The rare and/or the more emotionally attached the person is, the more valuable it is. Rarity brings about a general value that his peers and fellow enthusiasts can appreciate. Sentiments is strictly personal for the owner.

I too have in my possession such an object, and it is both – rare and has personal emotions attached to it. It’s my Minolta Mirror magazine collection dating from 1976 ~ 1993 in mint condition. I have all the editions that Minolta printed except for the 1975. (If there’s anyone out there who has it, please let me know)

Looking at the photographs in these magazines that were all done on film, it gives a sense and a measure as to how much crappy shots are being taken with the advent of digital. I started with film back in ’88 and I still remember thinking twice, thrice… sometimes four times before pressing that shutter. When not shooting, I just held the camera to my eye and tried to see things through the viewfinder. It was like training my eye to see how the camera would see. To pre-visualize a scene and see how it might look if I actually shot it.

The richness of Kodachromes and Fujichromes among other films that photographers swear upon, can all be seen and appreciated through the beautifully printed photographs featured in the magazine. As someone said in a forum regarding the quality of print and paper of Minolta Mirror “It would cost a fortune to print such a magazine if someone were to attempt it now”. The only magazine that has “dared” to print with such quality has been LensWork. 

I for one, am very happy and grateful, that I’ve had the good fortune of owning such a collection. Ironically, it makes me really sad and breaks my heart when I am reminded that film is no longer a viable option in these fast-paced times. The discontinuation of a giant company like Kodak speaks volumes and is a sure tell-tale sign of the future of film.

It took a lot of work to scan the front and back covers of the 18 magazines and at same time being very careful not to “hurt” my precious!! The worst part is, when I was done scanning, I stumbled upon a website where all that had been done! Can’t say how frustrated I got, but it sure was a good exercise. 🙂

There are still a few MM’s floating around on Ebay… be sure to get your copy while it’s there. You’ll be happy you did!!

 
6 Comments

Posted by on May 5, 2012 in My Photo-Rant, Public Awareness

 

Tags: , , , , , , , , , , , ,

6 responses to “PRIZED POSSESSIONS

  1. karkunow

    August 4, 2019 at 4:15 pm

    Hello! I want to read David Hamilton’s interview in 1979 issue so badly!!
    Could you help me, please? And send some photos of the pages to my email – karkunow@gmail.com.

    Thanks!!

    Like

     
    • eyeofali

      August 4, 2019 at 5:11 pm

      Hi,

      Sure thing! Which edition is that interview published? I’ll email it to you.

      Like

       
  2. Jay Rankine

    August 13, 2017 at 10:09 pm

    I’m hoping you can help me. I’m trying to track down a photo which my father took which is in one of these Minolta Mirror magazines. It is a photo of inside an old gold miner’s tent from Ballarat Australia. His name is Chris Rankine. Regards Jay.

    Like

     
    • tigerclaws

      August 14, 2017 at 6:20 am

      Hi Jay, I’ll look into it. Any idea which year (range) I might find him in?

      Like

       
  3. meandmyclick

    January 21, 2013 at 1:42 am

    Haha, after reading this I am actually going to look for some Minolta Mirror magz. Thanks for the tip 😉

    Like

     
  4. mwdurr

    May 5, 2012 at 10:50 am

    Nice little rambling Ali. However, you can be sure that as long as people are buying film (there are still many that shoot it that I’ve seen), that there will at least be a couple companies making it.

    Me though, I’ve already been spoilt too much by digital. 😉

    Like

     

Leave a comment