RSS

Retro-Retreat : Going from Digital –> Film

29 Jul

It’s been ages since I bought any camera gear and honestly, it frustrates the shit out of me!! Not that I’m just into buying stuff, but all I’ve been using is the one kit lens I got with my D200 – and that’s 3 years ago!

Umm…  so why haven’t I bought it? Well, no job = no money = no fun… plain n simple. I’ve got tired of browsing around, reviewing gears and wishing I could have it… only finding out that something better popped up. It’s seriously BAD how fast the industry is churning out these cameras. A semi-pro body has a life of 6 months, pro body of 1-1.5 years. A new body or a version HAS to come out!! It’s really frustrating.

A few days ago, I had a bolt of lightning… I thought of selling my digital stuff, and buying myself a scanner and one “good” lens from that money. I have been wanting (dying) to buy me a point-n-shoot for sometime now. Well, after using a dSLR for so long, you can imagine how much of a control freak I became using it. Went through a lot of semi-pro P-n-S but none stood out as the ultimate “swiss army” camera. Until recently, Olympus came out with the E-P1. Now this camera IS something that’s between a P-n-S. A very product that can serve anyone. However, no point-n-shoot can satisfy everyone’s needs. The issue with the E-P1 is that it doesn’t have any built in flash, and it really isn’t pocketable esp. when you put on a different lens than the 17mm pancake lens.

The other alternative  to the E-P1  (for myself, mind you) is the Ricoh GRD III or the GX200. The GRD III is a sweet sweet camera, and many photographers do swear by its lens. The ONLY issue I have with it is that it’s lens has a fixed focal length. This leaves me no other choice but the GX200.

So now I’m thinking, if I got me a film scanner, one “good” lens and the Ricoh GX200, I can wait a while and watch the prices drop for the dSLR body I ultimately want. Not a bad proposition in my view.


– now this is what’s on my mind –


Scanner Konica-Minolta Elite 5400 II

Lens : Nikon 85mm f/1.8 D   ( and/or 18-35mm f/3.5-4.5 … if possible )

P-n-S : Ricoh GX200




Konica-Minolta Elite 5400 II

Nikon 85mm f/1.8D

Ricoh GX200

.

 
2 Comments

Posted by on July 29, 2009 in Camera Gear

 

Tags: ,

2 responses to “Retro-Retreat : Going from Digital –> Film

  1. Oliver

    December 25, 2009 at 8:46 pm

    Hi,
    Well, I reckon you’ve done the right thing!!!
    I just bought me a GX200 and I’ve been deciding if I should sell my Olympus E620 that has less than 200 frames “on the clock”.

    Decisions desicions…..

    Like

     
    • tigerclaws

      December 28, 2009 at 12:45 am

      Hello Oliver,

      Thanks for commenting on my post… yeah I did manage to get me the GX200, but only after selling the D200 though!

      It’s proved to be an amazing camera. However, I do miss using a DSLR. If I have my way, I would get me the D700 and the Olympus E-P2. The open system of the Olympus E-P1/2 is absolutely genius!!

      About your E-620, why don’t you convert it into an IR / UV camera body?!! I work at a camera store and I had this guy print a macro shot he had taken with his E-620 and 50mm f/2 Macro lens. He made a 20×36 print and it was SUPER !!

      Like

       

Leave a Reply

 
