RSS

PRIZED POSSESSIONS

05 May

Everyone has a prized collection that he/she for some reason cherishes like no other thing they possess. It can be a $1 million trophy or even a handful of sand from their homeland… sometimes, it is just Faith that people have of what is utmost value to them, letting go of all worldly possessions 

It may sound materialistic and obsessive at first, but it actually is never the price that determines the value of the object in the possession. Two things add value – it’s rarity and the emotions related with it. The rare and/or the more emotionally attached the person is to this object, the more valuable it is to him/her. Rarity brings about a general value that his/her peers and fellow enthusiasts can appreciate – Emotions is strictly personal for the owner.

I too have in my possession such an object, and it is both – very rare and emotional. Its my Minolta Mirror magazine collection dating from 1976 ~ 1993 in mint condition. I have all the editions that Minolta printed except for the 1975 & 1977. (If there’s anyone out there who has these two, please let me know)

Looking at the photographs in these magazines that were all done on film, it gives a sense and a measure as to how much crappy shots are being taken with the advent of digital. I started with film back in ’88 and I still remember thinking twice, thrice… sometimes four times before pressing that shutter. When not shooting, I just held the camera to my eye and tried to see things through the viewfinder. It was like training my eye to see how the camera would see. To pre-visualize a scene and see how it might look if I actually shot it.

The richness of Kodachromes and Velvias among other films that photographers swear upon, can all be seen and appreciated through the beautifully printed photographs featured in the magazine. As someone said in a forum regarding the quality of print and paper of Minolta Mirror “It would cost a fortune to print such a magazine if someone were to attempt it now”. The only magazine that has “dared” to print with such quality has been LensWork. 

I for one, am very happy and grateful, that I’ve had the good fortune of owning such a collection. Ironically, it makes me really sad and breaks my heart when I am reminded that film is no longer a viable option in these fast-paced times. The discontinuation of a giant company like Kodak speaks volumes and is a sure tell-tale sign of the future of film.

It took a lot of work to scan the front and back covers of the 17 magazines and at same time being very careful not to “hurt” my precious!! The worst part is, when I was done scanning, I discovered a website where all that had been done !! Can’t say how frustrated I got, but it sure was a good exercise. :)

There are still a few MM’s floating around on Ebay… be sure to get your copy while it’s there. You’ll be happy you did!!

 
2 Comments

Posted by on May 5, 2012 in My Photo-Rant, Public Awareness

 

Tags: , , , , , , , , , , , ,

2 responses to “PRIZED POSSESSIONS

  1. meandmyclick

    January 21, 2013 at 1:42 am

    Haha, after reading this I am actually going to look for some Minolta Mirror magz. Thanks for the tip ;)

     
  2. mwdurr

    May 5, 2012 at 10:50 am

    Nice little rambling Ali. However, you can be sure that as long as people are buying film (there are still many that shoot it that I’ve seen), that there will at least be a couple companies making it.

    Me though, I’ve already been spoilt too much by digital. ;)

     

Leave a Reply

 
Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 74 other followers

